h1

Boozing with Broadway Joe

February 1, 2008

01500_namaphs016017.jpg

I can’t think of a more fitting tribute to drinking and football than Modern Drunkard’s Salute to Joe Namath: An Excellent Drunk and a Fine Athlete.

I’ll let the both the article (above) and Joe (below) speak for themselves:

“I only drink in two situations: when I’m with others and when I’m by myself.”

“I like my Jack Daniels red and my women blond.”

“I don’t know whether I prefer Astroturf to grass. I never smoked Astroturf.”

When we won the league championship, all the married guys on the club had to thank their wives for putting up with all the stress and strain all season. I had to thank all the single broads in New York.”

Added bonus: Click here for excellent sideline footage of a drunken Joe Namath hitting on ESPN’s  Suzy Kolber a few years ago

One comment

  1. Joe got all the limelight while others got the job done with less media attention. This caused Roger Stabauch to remark, “I like sex too; the difference is I just have sex with my wife”.



Leave a Reply

